Talk

Advanced search

How many of you have ever checked your cleaner's passport/visa/ work permit.... Honestly....

(9 Posts)
GuiltyToo Mon 28-Sep-09 13:37:28

Until recently we had an Argentinian cleaner.

Before that a Brazilian lady.

Our window cleaner has a non-British accent - think he's a Kiwi.

Have I ever seen sight of any of their documents?

Nope.

Also, shouldn't you be paying NI contributions for supposed 'employees'. Who does that for cleaners?

Nobody I know.....

LadyMuck Mon 28-Sep-09 13:39:38

My cleaner is self-employed. That said I have countersigned her citizenship and subsequent passport application.

RubberDuck Mon 28-Sep-09 13:39:43

"Also, shouldn't you be paying NI contributions for supposed 'employees'. Who does that for cleaners?" - unless they're cleaning your house exclusively, surely they're self-employed and it's their responsibility to deal with the tax office.

theyoungvisiter Mon 28-Sep-09 13:42:41

I am not a lawyer, but as I understand it, it depends if they are your employee or if they are self-employed.

My cleaner is self-employed - like a painter or decorator. She works for a number of people and dictates her own times and schedule. I pay her cash and she sorts out her own tax and NI (or not, as the case may be).

If she worked only for me and I dictated her duties - more like a housekeeper - then she would be my employee and it would be my responsibility.

There is some info here on deciding whether someone is employed or self-employed.

GuiltyToo Mon 28-Sep-09 13:44:07

RubberDuck - yes, I suppose you're right. However presumably the 'law' would say that you should have a written contract of terms & conditions etc?

I honestly don't know anyone who does that - everyone around puts a card in the newsagent window, and pays cash in hand. shock

cleanandclothed Mon 28-Sep-09 14:06:09

I go through an agency precisely so that they make sure everything is done correctly.

snapple Mon 28-Sep-09 14:25:25