Talk

Advanced search

Part-time Study WWYD?

(4 Posts)
WinduhPAYNE Fri 12-Aug-11 22:59:55

Not exactly the usual Friday night convo but here goes...

Okay, so I have been thinking about doing a Health Care Professional (HCA) course of study at local university. Courses are 3 years full time or 7 years part time.

At first I was all for applying to do the full time course, but the thought of trying to do that with 3 dcs (no grandparents, or relatives nearby, only paid help) and a Dh who works abroad might be intense, so although the length of the part time course of study seems enormous I am beginning to wonder whether this might be the more appropriate course of action for someone in my situation.

Part of me doesn't relish the thought of being completely overwhelmed with the demands of the degree, homelife etc, but perhaps it wouldn't be so bad. Has anyone done something similar in my situation?

So WWYD: 3 years full time or 7 years part time if you were in my situation? (My dcs: 2 in secondary, 1 in primary. I would only really imagine getting paid help for my youngest.)

WinduhPAYNE Fri 12-Aug-11 23:13:30

.

LittleCatZ Fri 12-Aug-11 23:17:15

I just took an exam and had to study for an hour minimum every day for 8 weeks - was exhausting (my DC are 4yo and nearly 2yo and I have minimal help except DH) but now I'm back in the mind set, I'm up for the next one soon. I used to try to do something every year for my job to keep my knowledge up. If your course offers you segments so you can achieve something part time now, could you consider full time once DC3 is a little older? 7 years is daunting but you can sometimes get the job you want based on being on the way to a qualification - employers do see the value in a person who is committed to study and has managed to fit it in around a busy life.

WinduhPAYNE Fri 12-Aug-11 23:29:21

thanksCatz

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now