Talk

Advanced search

Training to become a Primary Teacher- What are my options?

(5 Posts)
wherenow Fri 07-Aug-09 22:25:56

Hi,

I currently work part-time as a Learning Support Assistant in a primary school.
I am really interested in becoming a teacher but unsure of where to start.
I spoke to my boss (school head teacher) who was very supportive and told me that he would support me in any way he could.
I have 9 gcse's grade a*-c (inc maths, science and english) and a Btec Nat Dip Childcare and Education.
I have an 18mnth old Ds and I am a single parent.
Basically, which training route would you recommend? Ideally, I need to continue working at the same time.
Realistically, how long will it take me to become a qualified teacher?

Any advice would be gratefully received.
Thank you

wherenow Tue 11-Aug-09 09:39:19

Anyone?

tiredemma Tue 11-Aug-09 09:46:56

Have you contacted your local university to see if you have the relevant qualifications to start a course?
They may be able to point you in the right direction.

girlsyearapart Tue 11-Aug-09 09:54:57

you can either do a degree which is 3 or 4 years then a pgce which is 1 year very intensive or a teaching degree which is 4 years i think. I did the pgce. You may alsohave to do an access course to go on to degree course. Got to go now but happy to talk more later x

changenameruk Tue 11-Aug-09 10:42:26

i did it as a single parent so it can be done but my children were older 5 and 3.
I had a degree already so my training was only a year. i do love it though so i would recommend it.

do you have some family support? my dc go to my ex husband 2 weekends a month and i used that time to do my studying/assignments etc and kept other written work to a minimum when i had the dc.

i am sure there is a person at your county council who can advise you may be the careers office? have you tried
www.tda.gov.uk/recruit there is lots of good info on there.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion