Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Job hunting advice please - bit complicated.

(7 Posts)
smurfgirl Mon 27-Oct-08 15:51:09

I am starting to job hunt and I am really stuck so any help would be welcome.

I am 24 and since I was 18 I have been in full time education, I have an english degree and have nearly finished a nursing degree which is on hold for a while (not sure how long?).

I have only ever really worked minimum wage type jobs, I have been a nanny, and a care assistant in a residential home and in hospitals. I don't want loads of money but I am wanting to earn £6+ an hour.

I really really don't want to do shop work (if i want to work pants hours for not amazing money I will do residential care work)

I can type really fast but i don't have any officy qualifications but I am obviously pretty literate due to english degree. I have seen some admin type jobs advertised for my local NHS trust so was wondering about those?

I also obviously have a huge CV gap due to my nursing course - how do I explain that being uncompleted?? I feel very unemployable at the moment really.

PhantomOfTheChocolateCakeAvena Mon 27-Oct-08 15:53:53

I thought you had finished and had a job smurf? sad

When are you going back to your course?

smurfgirl Mon 27-Oct-08 15:56:08

No it all sort of fell apart rather badly, no idea when I can complete, was supposed to start new job today Oh well.

Just heartbreaking applying for jobs I really don't want because I mucked up the job I did have and now I have no references and a 3 year CV gap to fill

PhantomOfTheChocolateCakeAvena Mon 27-Oct-08 16:02:34

sad I'm so sorry. I didn't finish my nursing course either, I'm on a radiography one now and appear to be working my way around the NHS!

Apply for any job you can. The admin one would be good or maybe a legal secretary for personal injury as you have medical knowledge? Or a PGCE? I know that it's not ideal but they offer bursaries for english graduates to do these.