Talk

Advanced search

cooking, freezing and reheating

(7 Posts)
kbaby Sat 29-Sep-07 22:02:33

Help,

I am a useless cook but since having DC I do batch cook AK meals for them and freeze it so that its easier and quicker to warm up at dinner time. However I either want to start freezing some of our foods for them or cooking batches for all of us.
I dont know what foods I can freeze and reheat. Ive got various recipe books but it doesnt say what can be frozen. For example I cooked us pasta and bolognaise sauce this week can I freeze that?

What foods can I not freeze? so I know what im looking for.

I know I really am useless at this cooking lark.
Thanks

SoMuchToBits Sat 29-Sep-07 22:06:48

You can certainly freeze pasta and bolognaise sauce. Obviously not stuff like salad. But most cooked meals freeze well.

SuperMonkey Sat 29-Sep-07 22:07:24

I freeze pretty much anything apart from cooked pasta/rice/potato. The pasta sauce will be fine, just cook the pasta fresh each time. Potato can be frozen, the texture is just a little odd when it's reheated. Also, dairy products don't always come out well - I cooked a soup with milk in it which curdled when reheated. I'm not sure if there's a system to it or whether it's just trial and error!

Seona1973 Sat 29-Sep-07 22:59:41

pasta/rice/potato can all be frozen - ds has spag bol, cheesy pasta, rissotto, mashed potato, etc frozen for him if we have extras at mealtimes

fransmom Sat 29-Sep-07 23:03:01

i'm in the same boat as you kbabysmile

i don't know how to cool foods down properly before putting them inb fridge blush so i put the plate that it's on in a deeper cold water "bath" so that the cooler plate then cools the food down. is that ok? tia x

kbaby Sun 30-Sep-07 11:14:42

What if I made us say a curry with whispers jared sauce. Could I freeze that

kbaby Thu 04-Oct-07 21:39:24

Bump.

Anyone please. Daft question I know but it seems a waste to throw out the leftovers.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion