Talk

Advanced search

Can you share your tomato pasta sauce recipes please?

(12 Posts)
Nextphonewontbesamsung Thu 15-Aug-19 17:55:13

I make this at least once a month and have been using more or less the same recipe/method for years.

Just wondered if I could tweak it a bit and ring the changes.

How do you make yours?

OP’s posts: |
JenMumsnet (MNHQ) Thu 15-Aug-19 19:17:23

I have to be honest, I am a lazy cook. So mine is fairly easy.
I dice a red onion and a couple of cloves of garlic and fry them. Then I add a jar of passata.
Gently simmer, but I also add a handful of chopped olives and capers.
Then depending on what I have I raid my fridge and will add some of the following, chopped artichoke hearts, sun-dried tomatoes, roasted peppers etc.... I will also add 2 anchovies as it gives it a kind of savoury taste and a spoonful of pesto.
Then I just let it simmer until the pasta is ready.

BertrandRussell Thu 15-Aug-19 19:20:12

The two tins of posh tomatoes, half a packet of butter and slow simmer for ages one is very good.

MiltonRoad Thu 15-Aug-19 19:20:55

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.thekitchn.com/marcella-hazans-amazing-4ingre-144538%3famp=1

BertrandRussell Thu 15-Aug-19 19:22:04

Otherwise JenMumsnet’s. Except it is worth blitzing some celery and carrot to cook down with the onion.

BoomyBooms Thu 15-Aug-19 19:22:06

Stumbled across this by accident and now we love it- Do whatever you normally do, but add a beef Bovril cube and simmer for a while...best if you're adding meat to it but I also do it even if I'm not!

AbuelitaAyahuasca Thu 15-Aug-19 19:24:22

Do you have a slow cooker? The longer it cooks the better - usually start with either garlic or onion plus diced celery and carrots in olive oil, add cans of tomatoes and leave it to cook all day.

hollyangel Thu 15-Aug-19 19:27:29

I second the 4 ingredient one posted above. Amazing flavour, I think it's the butter.

NiceRadFem Thu 15-Aug-19 19:27:50