Talk

Advanced search

Anyone stopped being a teacher and done something else?

(7 Posts)
cathcat Wed 02-Sep-09 00:30:14

I have a primary education degree. What else could I do that would not involve years of retraining?

YodaIAmNot Wed 02-Sep-09 01:20:08

I did - but have now just got myself a new job in a school hmm grin after 14 yrs away from schools lol
Worked in autism services - so not that different from education in some ways
Also worked on the local community learning disabilities team for a while.

What are your interests?

YodaIAmNot Wed 02-Sep-09 01:23:07

btw, when I was escaping leaving teaching, I read a fantastic book entitled "what can teachers do except teach" - now a bit old perhaps but here anyway.

RobynLou Wed 02-Sep-09 01:50:39

both my parents were originally history teachers, they ended up as the head of a language school and a self employed gardener...

cathcat Wed 02-Sep-09 19:48:10

Thank you for your replies. I think changing schools would be the best thing actually, although I like my school, I think it is not the best place for me anymore. Unfortunately though every post that comes up attracts over a hundred applications apparently.

Katisha Wed 02-Sep-09 19:49:56

Yes but it took a long time to get established in the second career, which is meeja.

Hulababy Wed 02-Sep-09 19:54:55

I did. I was a secondary school ICT teacher for 10 years.

I left when DD was a couple of years old for various reasons.

I went to work in prison education, where I worked as an Information, Advice and Guidance worker for nearly 3 years. I did some additional training during this time in IAG.

Then this Christmas I decided to stop doing that too and have been working as a primary school senior teaching assistant part time. lvoe it. I get to do lot of fun stuff with pupils, keep my hand in on the education side of things, still get some responsibilities regards planning and delivery - but it is pretty muh stress free, and little work outside of school time.