Talk

Advanced search

Schools opening in the summer holidays!

(503 Posts)
Biscuit0110 Wed 13-May-20 16:48:33

GAVIN WILLIAMSON confirmed the Department of Education is looking into the possibility of propping up summer schools to help pupils catch up with their work after the pandemic.

It seems that after ruling out using the summer holidays to allow the children to catch up, it is now firmly back on the table!

What a positive development - will you send your child to school over the summer?

OP’s posts: |
Spagbol88 Wed 13-May-20 16:49:57

Well as a teacher I won't be working. I need a break thanks!

CricketCrocket Wed 13-May-20 16:50:38

No, I won’t be sending them in over the summer. They need and break and so do all the school staff.

Biscuit0110 Wed 13-May-20 16:50:47

Well it was confirmed today - at question time.

altmum Wed 13-May-20 16:50:51

Do you have a link to that statement so we can read it for ourselves ? Thanks

GrimmsFairytales Wed 13-May-20 16:51:30

Why is it a positive development?

And who is he anticipating will run these summer schools?

VashtaNerada Wed 13-May-20 16:51:37

Staffed by who? And who’s paying them? Sounds like a bonkers idea to me.

Laiste Wed 13-May-20 16:52:18

Depends on what the school situation is like by then. If they've worked out a way to have the children in school safely without them being sellotaped to a desk then i might. (DD yr1)

A couple of days a week over the holls is quite a good idea.

Not for all of it though. For a start i'm really hoping we can go on our UK self catering holiday at the end of June ....

Will you OP?

Biscuit0110 Wed 13-May-20 16:52:42

Given that secondary school pupils will have lost half a year of schooling, it makes sense to use the summer to catch up, so they are not so far behind by the time they get to September.

I don't think the children need a break, they have been at home for two months already - I am really delighted. It tells me that the children in this country come first.