Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help if your child is unwell. If you have any serious medical concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

3 month old has VSD - needs open heart surgery. Won't take Infatrini.

(8 Posts)
MatildasMumsie Mon 27-Jun-11 18:46:16

Hello,
I'm very new to this but becoming a little frustrated with little intrest shown by health professionals and am hoping other mums (and dads) might be able to help by sharing their own experiences and advice.

My daughter is 14 weeks old and was diagnosed at 10 weeks with a large hole in the heart that will require open heart surgery. We are currently waiting to find out if surgery will be this friday or not. We're absolutely devastated that our little girl will have to go through this but realise we are very lucky as hopefully in the long run she will go on to lead a normal life.

At the moment her weight gain (or lack of it) is a major cause of concern. She is only 8lb 9oz and still wearing newborn clothes even though she has passed the three month mark. She was exclusively breastfed until four days ago when, following the advice of a dietican, I introduced two bottles a day of Infatrini (high calorie milk). However, she won't take the Infatrini and becomes quite distressed. The problem is not that she is been bottle fed as she takes expressed breast milk well from a bottle. Does any one have any advice? Or similar experience? Can you mix Infatrini with ebm?

Any help would be gratefully received,

Thank you!

Riveninside Mon 27-Jun-11 18:48:56

Does it taste disgusting? Dd was put on calogen at one point and its foul. No wonder she wojldnt touch it.
Could try mixing the two together. The next step might be an NG tube just to get her weight up.

MatildasMumsie Mon 27-Jun-11 18:55:34

It's very thick compared to bm and not quite as sweet. My girl knows what she likes and it isn't Infatrini. What was the calogen for if you dont mind me asking?