Talk

Advanced search

Leicester General or Queens Med Nottingham?

(11 Posts)
Tinkerisdead Tue 14-Jun-11 17:40:43

Does anyone have experience of these hospitals or even of both? My last baby was born by C section in Burton and I've moved. I cant have a VBAC in the local birth centre as too high risk. I'm only 6 weeks but I know I'm going to asked which consultant led unit I want to go to and its leicester general or nottingham queens. I have no experience of either, Nott rates higher on maternity stats and scoring but it was carried out in 2007.

I think I want an elcs so I need to choose which hospital..

sleepdodger Wed 15-Jun-11 09:59:40

Hi, any reason for leics general rather than royal infirmary (the city centre one)
I had a choice of hospitals due to location, and chose LRI based on friends who had had good deliveries there- I wasn't dissappointed with my choice
I found the care from the birth centre to del suite to theatre & then post natal care to be very good, especially when things suddenly got complicated!!
I have had 2 good friends have 2 planned cs, 1 emcs & 1 vbac & also be v happy there
hth

SpannerPants Wed 15-Jun-11 21:33:28

One of my friends has just had a baby at Leicester General - she ended up with EMCS because of foetal distress but she said the care was excellent despite it being busy.

I'm booked at LRI just because it's closer but am hoping to use the birth centre (which is on the same floor as labour ward).

colditz Wed 15-Jun-11 21:35:35

well..... I bloody hated leicester general, but can't compare as I've never been to nottingham.

colditz Wed 15-Jun-11 21:36:17

Don't forget YOU CAN GO TO THE LOCAL BIRTH CENTRE FOR AFTERCARE!!!!!

I did and it was the most beautiful place I have ever been.

Tinkerisdead Wed 15-Jun-11 22:06:38

Sorry Internet went down. I hate the royal, that's my own personal judgement at the corridors that stank of piss when I busted my sil and the blood streamed phlegm on the floors in the children's a & e.