Talk

Advanced search

Can you help me choose a sewing machine?

(5 Posts)
spinaltap Mon 26-Sep-11 14:33:58

I know NOTHING about sewing machines, except that I got on really badly with them at school. grin

But I really want to get into sewing as there are loads of things I want to make.

What do I need to consider before buying? Do I just go for the most expensive I can afford, or one with the most features? I guess I would be more likely to buy a brand I have heard of, e.g. Singer, Brother. I really am a total newbie, so any advice would be useful! I've had a look at them on the net, but it's not really helping.

Thank you!

Fayrazzled Mon 26-Sep-11 14:43:30

I've got a Janome 525 Sewist and I love it. Janome seems to be a very popular sewing machine brand and I have heard they are better quality than Singer or Brother machines (metal rather than plastic interiors). Janome also make the John Lewis own brand machines.

I'd recommend going to a JL store if you have one near you, or other sewing machine stockist, and having a go on a few different machines. Then buy a Janome one. smile

DorisVinyard Mon 26-Sep-11 15:26:30

I was (still am) a complete novice when I bought mine and it has been really easy to use. I've only made things like curtains but it's been great. It's a Wimsew. I bought it because it was the cheapest.

PopcornMouse Mon 26-Sep-11 16:06:26

I have a janome from John Lewis (DC3050) and love it.

More ££ doesn't necessarily mean a better machine, but conversely I wouldn't spend less than £100 or you'll be getting plastic tatt that will break in 6 months. Think about what you plan to do with it - if not now, then in a year - and buy a machine to suit; to get the best for your money, you want something you'll grow into, rather than grow out of.

Hth smile

spinaltap Mon 26-Sep-11 18:37:59