Talk

Advanced search

Genetic testing for Balanced Translocation after baby loss

(14 Posts)
Grassisgreener99 Sat 15-Aug-20 21:03:52

Hi all,

I’m new to mumsnet so please excuse the lack of knowledge but desperately looking for support and answers.

We have a healthy DS and recently lost DD due to Unbalanced chromosomes- (Chromosomes 2 and 7) which caused a long list of problems for her which sadly was not compatible with life.
At our de-brief meeting with the consultant we had bloods taken to check mine and DH genetics and are currently awaiting the results.
At the meeting the consultant said he believed this was a ‘one off’ as I had not miscarried before and we have a healthy son. However after he had a meeting with the genetics consultant they have now said its ‘highly possible’ one of us are carriers of balanced translocation chromosomes which, if the test comes back as this - there would be a 50/50 chance of this happening every time conceive.

My mum had a stillborn baby and 4 miscarriages, so I would assume I would be a carrier if this was the cause of the unbalanced chromosomes in our DD.

Anybody else experience something similar?
The thought of playing roulette with babies in the future kills me- to go through emotionally and physically each time, let alone the prospect that our DS could be a carrier also.
I’m really struggling with the wait of these results - not knowing what the future holds for us.

Thanks in advance

OP’s posts: |
Pacif1cDogwood Sat 15-Aug-20 21:11:24

First of all, condolences for your loss - so sad to lose a much hoped for baby thanks

I have a balanced translocation of chromosome 13/14. This gives me a high chance of having pregnancies with Trisomies 13 or 14.