Talk

Advanced search

To wonder why the pill is still the most popular contraceptive?

(161 Posts)
westernnurse Mon 19-Jan-15 17:35:23

With all the other methods out there now like the injection/implant/coils which are all far more reliable than the pill and don't require the user to remember to take a pill every day.

I'm a CASH nurse and it always amazes me how so many women flat out refuse to even try any of the alternative methods. One woman who had been on the pill for a few years but had to stop taking it due to health issues outright refused to try out any of the alternatives because they sounded "horrible" and decided to just stick to condoms.

I think there's a lot of myths and misconceptions surrounding these methods and people believe them and this puts people off.

Dawndonnaagain Mon 19-Jan-15 17:38:24

Because it's about personal choices, because other methods don't always suit people. DD1 is having her implant removed, it affects her mood, her weight and unfortunately her narcolepsy. DD2 is on the pill because she's needle phobic.

Artandco Mon 19-Jan-15 17:40:11

I'm put off as:

Coil - 3 people I know have fallen pregnant with it

Implant - many I know have had constant bleeding for months on end

Injection - lasts years, so can't just decide to have another baby a year on.

Pill = convient. And can take packs back to back if needed

TheAwfulDaughter Mon 19-Jan-15 17:40:26

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

Misslgl88 Mon 19-Jan-15 17:41:40

For Me it's the fact your fertility is pretty much right there where as both implant and injection took over a year to leave my system by which point I was starting to worry. Also I wouldnt have the coil heard too many bad things it getting lost people still falling pregnant heavy bleeding etc

plummyjam Mon 19-Jan-15 17:41:49

Because the other methods can bugger up your periods and aren't as easily reversible.

Fluffyears Mon 19-Jan-15 17:43:26