Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

to ask what you do if you are self employed/work at home

(289 Posts)
PocketFluff Mon 11-Nov-13 08:58:45

In a few threads recently people have talked about being self employed, some only doing a few hours a week, or being able to have a work at home job that fits around the children.

Can I be nosey and ask what it is you do and get a bit of the action myself?

pianodoodle Mon 11-Nov-13 09:02:03

I teach music smile

SillyTilly123 Mon 11-Nov-13 09:03:36

I'm not technically employed, but dp has his own gardening business and my job is to drive him about (because he doesn't drive hmm) and do the books/make appointments etc. I think next year i'll put myself on the books though so I can "earn" too.

AngelsLieToKeepControl Mon 11-Nov-13 09:05:34

I started a small business, I paint furniture, murals, canvas (usually childrens characters) and I also do memory boxes and other bits and bobs. I started a few months ago and am doing really well so far, although I have had to cancel doing a few murals this month since I broke my ankle sad which is the down side to being self employed, I don't get any sick pay.

ilovesooty Mon 11-Nov-13 09:07:50

I'm a counsellor in private practice in addition to working full time.

Brittapie Mon 11-Nov-13 09:08:00

I've done ok in the past doing the direct selling type things (Ann Summers, Usborne, Avon) but you do need to be a certain type of person to be successful.

ChrisTheSheep Mon 11-Nov-13 09:11:27

I do publicity for an educational charity run by friends.

MaeMobley Mon 11-Nov-13 09:18:16

accountant/ bookkeeper.

Contraryish Mon 11-Nov-13 09:22:23

Translator

Joysmum Mon 11-Nov-13 09:22:43

I do up buy to lets up and then manage them myself.

ConfusedPixie Mon 11-Nov-13 09:23:34

I do childcare SE around my two nanny jobs. Usually babysitting but some stuff during the day when I can too.