Can anyone recommend books similar to Lee Child's Reacher books?

(16 Posts)
birkiekid Fri 24-Apr-15 18:45:43

I love them and have read them all.
They are my ultimate holiday read I'm away for the weekend and need something to read but not in the mood for anything too serious.

I'd like something quite fast paced, well written and with a heroic main character. (What I actually want is the new Reacher but it's not out til the Autumn)

Any suggestions?

DueOct30th Fri 24-Apr-15 18:51:39

I love Jack Reacher too (not sure who castTom Cruise to play him in the films!) try the Ben Hope books by Scot Mariani they are similar but based on a British character.

MonstersBalls Fri 24-Apr-15 18:59:39

You might like Andy McNab's Nick Stone series. The first one is called Remote Control. I really enjoyed them. Ex-special forces hero solves the world's problemssmile

birkiekid Fri 24-Apr-15 19:04:57

Do the Scot Mariani books venture a bit into Dan Brown territory as I wasn't keen on the Da Vinci Code? They do look like a possibility though and there are lots of them which would have me sorted for holidays to come.

The Andy McNab ones sound great. The first one is a bit pricey on Kindle though.

birkiekid Fri 24-Apr-15 19:06:48

I agree that Tom Cruise was a disaster as Reacher. I believe he bought the rights to the books and cast himself. Lee Child seems happy enough although I suspect money has a lot to do with that.

If I suddenly became hugely wealthy I would right the wrong by getting the rights and finding someone great to play Reacher.

ChocolateCherry Fri 24-Apr-15 19:17:15

I like the Reacher books, but haven't read them all. It's awful when you run out of books in a favourite series.

Who would be your Reacher in a film birkiekid? I imagine him as Liam Neeson. I don't mine Tom Cruise generally in films, but agree he in no way resembled Reacher's description at all confused. Bit of a wasted opportunity really sad

agoodbook Fri 24-Apr-15 19:20:18

Bookseller here smile -
you may like :-
Matt Hilton
Vince Flynn
Tom Cain
Tom Wood

Avonmore Fri 24-Apr-15 19:22:54

David Baldacci has a similar set. Can't think of the main characters name but they're pretty much a rip off of Reacher.
Have been disappointed with the last few Reacher books. In fact I didn't even buy the last one. Am hoping to see a return to form at some stage.

Cocolepew Fri 24-Apr-15 19:27:07

Sean Black books are very similar.
Ive been disappointed in the last few Reachers too. I havent read the last couple.
You would probably like Robert Crais and Harlan Cobens Myron books.

birkiekid Fri 24-Apr-15 21:42:00

I agree that the last Reacher books weren't as good as the earlier ones but there is something about them that I find addictive.

I think I like the combination of the American setting and English author.

I'm going to try the David Baldacci one for now as it is very cheap so nothing to lose.

I've spent the odd hour moment day dreaming about who I would cast as Reacher but I haven't come up with the perfect solution yet.

I think the thing that annoyed me most about the Tom Cruise casting is that Reacher's size is so important in the books. It's not just about the physical strength and what he does with it. It's that being so big shaped the way he thinks and influences how other people treat him.

birkiekid Fri 24-Apr-15 21:48:23

Thanks for all the suggestions. I'm going to look through these on Amazon so I'll have a list to work through.

If you are a Reacher fan what other fiction do you like?

I read some English crime fiction but the Lee Child's are the only thrillers I've ever stuck with.

In other genres I like Donna Tartt, Barbara Kingsolver, Anne Tyler and a lot of older stuff too.

agoodbook Fri 24-Apr-15 22:10:18

English Crime -
Peter Robinson (rubbish on the telly, but enjoy the books)
Elly Griffiths
Peter James

Other Genres
Margaret Forster
Alan Bennett
Bill Bryson

SecretSquirrels Wed 29-Apr-15 20:01:10

I love Reacher and so does DS2 (17). We have in joke Reacher based conversations.
I like crime and thrillers in general. Just finished a Tess Gerritson.

In a similar vein to Reacher - the Spider Shepherd books by Stephen Leather (not to be confused with his supernatural series).
I also love Robert B Parker's Spenser series. Slower paced than Childs but witty and elegantly written.

hooker29 Sat 02-May-15 20:22:11

I LOVE Tim Weaver-easy to read,but well written.

abigamarone Tue 05-May-15 12:59:32

I'd recommend the Stephen Leather books about Dan Shepherd, he's an ex policeman waging an almost one-man-war against gangs, drug dealers and terrorists. They're not deep but are a really easy read.

abigamarone Tue 05-May-15 13:01:19

I hadn't scrolled down as far as secretsquirrels post blush

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now