Tough new tests for children at 5 and 11?

(62 Posts)
mrz Mon 08-Jul-13 06:54:25

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Blissx Mon 08-Jul-13 18:59:18

We're a sensitive bunch us teachers!wink LunaticFringe, I graduated in 2002. MrButtercat, don't mind me and my anecdotal 'evidence', just thought I'd add it to point out there are some improvements being made.

With regards to the concern over the skills of Primary Teachers, there are a few groups including Computing at Schools network already supporting Primary Teachers and Primary Teachers are a resourceful bunch and will work hard to support pupils in the right way, of that I have no doubt. Being used to frequent govt. changes and having to adapt at a moments notice is a skill teachers have become adept in. What does worry me is how quickly and haphazardly this new curriculum has been put together and by whom. More industry bods have been involved than teachers and I worry the pedagogy hasn't matched up.

Tiggles Mon 08-Jul-13 15:28:03

MrBC grin.

Also, when they say age 5 they mean year 1 so 5-6, rather than reception 4-5. I had assumed when the media were saying 'first time fractions ever taught at age 5' they meant reception, as they are definitely in the Welsh framework for year 1 (and we tend to be behind England). The fraction stuff seems pretty much what DS2 is doing at the moment e.g. what is 1/2 of 6 he'd be happy to tell you (and he isn't G&T) not sure if he would know how to write it though.

MrButtercat Mon 08-Jul-13 15:23:57

Let's hope the IT bods doing the gov site aren't the same people advising Gove.grin

AuntieStella Mon 08-Jul-13 15:16:35

Even though the link I posted is to DfEd (not gov.uk) both those links are several clicks away from the proposal documents, and those docs are not clearly titled. And the actual outline curriculum is another click from the proposal document.

Dreadfully shambolic.

Tiggles Mon 08-Jul-13 15:14:50