Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you have any serious medical concerns we would urge you to consult your GP.

24 Hour urine sample to check my hormones, wish I'd asked what it is checking

(12 Posts)
HazeltheMcWitch Sun 25-Nov-12 10:24:57

Hah, good stuff. I am glad I got it right, as I have lots of experience in this area. Doing, not analysing! Hope it all goes well, and you get some info and treatment for whatever's making you feel unwell.

Marrow Sat 24-Nov-12 19:07:11

Catecholamines! Yes, that is what they were testing. Thank you Hazel, it's been irritating me that I couldn't remember!

HazeltheMcWitch Sat 24-Nov-12 00:43:27

oops, sorry, double posted there when MN went down for a sec...

HazeltheMcWitch Sat 24-Nov-12 00:43:04

They're probably checking your catecholamines - epinephrine, norepinephrine, metanephrine, and dopamine. The 1st 2 are also known as adrenaline and noradrenaline. They're hormones, and do things like regulate blood pressure and volume.

Nb think that's right, am not a medic but I have done many 24hr urine collections!

HazeltheMcWitch Sat 24-Nov-12 00:42:50

They're probably checking your catecholamines - epinephrine, norepinephrine, metanephrine, and dopamine. The 1st 2 are also known as adrenaline and noradrenaline. They're hormones, and do things like regulate blood pressure and volume.

Nb think that's right, am not a medic but I have done many 24hr urine collections!

Jollyb Fri 23-Nov-12 21:29:54

BTW - very unlikely that you have either of these before you google.

Jollyb Fri 23-Nov-12 21:27:06

Could be urinary 5-HIAA or VMA? Used to diagnose some very rare conditions that can cause palpitations and flushing.

freelancescientist Fri 23-Nov-12 21:14:15

Cortisol is a hormone.

myfavoritedayismonday Fri 23-Nov-12 15:18:01