Does anyone else feel gloomy when a new recipe goes wrong?

(17 Posts)
bumblebeaver Mon 05-Aug-13 13:14:02

I made Bill Granger's beef rendang last and it tasted vile. I have made loads of his recipes and they have all turned out really well. I followed the recipe exactly and had all the right ingredients - I was hoping to put 2 extra portions in the freezer but I don't know how I would palm it off on them again.

<gloom>

Fluffycloudland77 Mon 05-Aug-13 14:06:40

Yes, usually ending in a total depression that I'm a crap cook and sulking for the rest of the evening.

MarjorieAntrobus Mon 05-Aug-13 14:21:54

Yes, particularly if I spent a lot of time and/or money on it.

bumblebeaver Mon 05-Aug-13 16:52:17

Fluffy that's exactly what I did grin

I try so hard confused

snowlie Mon 05-Aug-13 17:10:26

Hairy Bikers have a good Rendang. I know what you mean about having disasters - dh is always very polite and eats it, while i folk it around the plate grumbling.

bumblebeaver Mon 05-Aug-13 17:13:42

Really? Have you made their rendang? This one had lemongrass, coconut milk and tamarind. At the start it tasted horrible but I thought it might improve. Alas, no. It was sort of sour.

I might get Nigel out tonight, he's never let me down.

I like rasa malaysia website or Rick Stein for Asian, neither have failed me, not tried rendang yet though.

bumblebeaver Mon 05-Aug-13 18:06:01

That's interesting Netto, i love Rick Stein for fish and saw he had a curry book out but haven't bought it yet. I've got everyday asian by bill granger and I have made some absolutely brilliant recipes with it. All household favourites. That's why I was so confident about his beef. I'm half wondering if something was off - I used tamarind paste that I got from the supermarket and kept in the fridge, but noticed it was quite runny, rather than pasty.

Fluffycloudland77 Mon 05-Aug-13 19:04:34

I've read articles that say some recipes are just wrong, so it's doomed to failure from the start.