Maternity pay dilemma...!!

(5 Posts)
BoogieBean Fri 08-May-15 22:13:34

Hi all

I was hoping some of you could give me some advice as I am in two minds at the moment. I am also going to post this on the pregnancy thread...

I am currently 23 weeks pregnant and I am really unhappy where I work. I work as a receptionist, however this is not your standard receptionist role (on my feet a lot of the time making teas/coffees, clearing up after the whole office washing up, loading/unloading dishwasher etc, constantly doing extra hours as supervisor is always on holiday). I feel more like an assistant rather than a receptionist.

I brought my maternity leave forward 1 month as I am so unhappy and struggling being on my feet all the time. I was signed off in Feb for a couple weeks for stress/anxiety relating to my job. Now, my dilemma...I do not want to go back to my current job after maternity leave but will do if I cannot find another job whilst on leave. My employer offers Enhanced Maternity Pay, where they pay 50% of your salary for 9 months with the incentive that you return to work for 6 months otherwise it will have to be repaid. I know this money would help me a hell of a lot, especially as this is my second child but I really do not want to go back for 6 months.

I'm stuck in two minds, I really don't know what to do. Any advice would be much appreciated.

DragonWithAGirlTattoo Fri 08-May-15 22:20:02

6 months isn't long and will give you time.to look for something else?

KingOfTheStupids Fri 08-May-15 22:28:17

that 6 mths will fly by, especially if you use your accrued annual leave before you return.

EBearhug Fri 08-May-15 22:37:28

Go back for the 6 months, and use the time to fine-tune your CV, brush up any skills which might be a bit weak, and apply for other jobs. It will go by quickly enough.

BoogieBean Fri 08-May-15 22:57:50