dd off to uni, tax credit slashed and council tax bill hugely increased. what can we do?

(39 Posts)
NoahVale Sun 18-Sep-16 09:03:42

i worked out our incomings and outgoings but now they are screwed

need some advice, aside from sitting DH down and forcing him to work more hours, working more hours myself.
not keen on Stepchange.
remind me how to Really budget
tia

insancerre Sun 18-Sep-16 09:05:09

Why can't you work more hours?

Genuine question as its what I would do on your situation

I understand why the tax credits has dropped but why has the CT gone up? Was you getting a discount for her?

There will be people around soon to help, I'm not very good with spreadsheets and things.

nancy75 Sun 18-Sep-16 09:05:42

How many hours do you both work?

NoahVale Sun 18-Sep-16 09:08:19

tbh we need to keep our income on a certain amount due to dd starting uni.

budgeting advice really appreciated.
i am working more, off to work extra shortly.
dh trying to, looking but unsuccessful.
so work aside - any tips?

NoahVale Sun 18-Sep-16 09:08:48

we were getting council tax relief and housing benefit.

AnchorDownDeepBreath Sun 18-Sep-16 09:11:18

Are you both working part-time? Have you done a budget of your new income and outgoings - is there a shortfall already or is there just less than you're used to once everything has been paid?

With so little information, budgeting advice is hard - it'll only really be the usual, buy in bulk and shop at cheap places, look for reduced clothes, new clothes from charity shops, use comparison sites for lowest prices, keep energy/water usage as low as possible, cancel Sky as soon as you can, keep mobile phone usage low and reduce contract price if you can...

NoahVale Sun 18-Sep-16 09:13:58

not done a budget yet because the council tax bill only arrived on friday.
yes, i guess I just have to sit down and work it out.
thanks.

Muddlewitch Sun 18-Sep-16 09:18:10