What are your child's favourite comics and why? Tell us for a chance to win an annual subscription to The Beano PLUS Freaky and Fearless books!

(101 Posts)
SorchaMumsnet (MNHQ) Wed 07-Sep-16 16:35:10

The FREAKY comic world collides with three FEARLESS kids in an explosion of fun, action, laughs and adventure!

Simon Moss aka Mossy loves action comics and wishes he was brave enough to star in one. His best friend Whippet is also a fanatic - especially for the really freaky ones. The boys have their own powers as gifted storyteller (Mossy) and artist (Whippet) - and together they find themselves thrown into an adventure straight out of a comic book.

But it's up to the world's coolest girl, craftiest inventor and smallest explorer - Lucy Shufflebottom - to kick the boys into gear. Can they track down the mysterious beast that has kidnapped Mossy's younger sister?

Freaky and Fearless by Robin Etherington is a magical, hilarious adventure packed with fun illustrations - perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Dork Diaries.

What is your child’s favourite comic book(s) - and why? Tell us to be in with chance of winning Freaky and Fearless books 1 and 2 PLUS a year's subscription to The Beano!

This discussion is sponsored by Piccadilly Press and will end on 5 October

Books T&Cs apply

TrollTheRespawnJeremy Wed 07-Sep-16 19:46:44

DD loves the My Little Pony comics as she is pony mad. This is her first foray into comics so far. I remember enjoying the Beano and Dandy as a child so would love to encourage her to do the same!

fantasticfive Fri 09-Sep-16 06:29:28

My son likes the Disney comics expecially the brightly coloured pictures.

DramaInPyjamas Fri 09-Sep-16 06:53:02

We love The Beano in this house. I remember getting when I was a girl as well, and it's still as funny. We all sit and snigger over it!

DS likes to buy Doctor Who comics now and again with his pocket money.

DD doesn't have another favourite really, nothing seems to catch her eye other than The Beano. I was telling her a few weeks ago about Twinkle magazine I used to get and we've been on the search for something similar.

And it's not a exactly comic, more a magazine/newspaper but we also sometimes get The Week Junior. A weekly round up of the news and events from around the world.

glenka Fri 09-Sep-16 07:29:54

The Beano because it is full of mischievous characters.

Narnianescape Fri 09-Sep-16 08:30:34

My daughter loves the The Dandy for the variety of comics in it especially Desperate Dan

CopperPan Fri 09-Sep-16 09:53:15

DSs have loved the Lego Bionicle comic and Simpsons. DD loves Angelina Ballerina as she loves to dance.

Martha2000 Fri 09-Sep-16 10:01:57

My kids LOVE the Beano and the Phoenix - both delivered weekly, and they literally couldn't survive without them. The Beano for its daftness and jokes and the Phoenix for its madly imaginative stories. There are also tons of great spin off books from Phoenix stories which are also brilliant ... I do find it funny seeing them read the Beano in particular - it really doesn't seem to have changed that much since I read it as a kid. So many of the same characters and stories. I remember obsessively drawing pics of Minnie the Minx, and now my daughter is doing the same!

katiefish Fri 09-Sep-16 10:14:20

we love the horrible histories comic

SharonfromEON Fri 09-Sep-16 10:17:28

My DS only ever really gets the beano and he does love it..MY reason I refuse to pay £5 for the plastic tat on the front..

I wish more magazines were reasonably priced...When you can buy a book cheaper than a comic it is madness.

BellaWella86 Fri 09-Sep-16 10:24:34

My daughter LOVES Beano. She loves the mix of characters and her favourite is Gnasher.

BearAusten Fri 09-Sep-16 10:24:50

Currently, it would have to be The Simpsons. One or two in his year group read these comics and watch the series on tv.

firawla Fri 09-Sep-16 10:27:54

Mine like the Lego magazines (nexo Knights etc) or for comic strip type books like they Pokemon, or some superhero ones

FeelingSmurfy Fri 09-Sep-16 10:34:55

Horrible histories

Beano, I got them in to that though because I used to read the beano and my grandad still has old beano annuals that were my dad's when he was younger! I used to read those when I was younger and now they do smile three generations reading the same books

funkyfish586 Fri 09-Sep-16 10:53:00

My son loves how it works magazine as he is obsessed with science and how things work

Annieg1234 Fri 09-Sep-16 11:01:24

my niece absolutely loves Beano, she was thrilled to bits recently to find some old comics at a car boot sale. A timeless classic smile

freefan Fri 09-Sep-16 12:44:01

My lad loves the Beano, he used to read the Dandy as well but Dennis the Menace is his favourite.

namechangingagainagain Fri 09-Sep-16 12:50:43

Ds9 LOVES the beano. His fave character is probably Minnie the minx but he loves it all. We have it delivered every week (a great Christmas present idea) and he does a little dance when he sees it on the doormat.
In fact when he grows up he would like to be a beano artist.... He realises he will have to work up through the ranks and hopes to initially get a job either as the office cleaner or the person who adds on the sound effects onto the cartoons. smile

WowOoo Fri 09-Sep-16 12:56:17

My youngest son changes his mind according to what free gift is on the cover, if you mean magazines.
It was Angry Birds recently because he wanted the slingshot. He used his own pocket money!
I think the hardback annuals are better value and last longer. I bought Beano last Christmas and he still looks through it.

JesusDontWantMeForASunbeam Fri 09-Sep-16 12:57:02

DS loves the Beano and the Denis the menace books as a result. He hates reading, his ADHD means it's a struggle to concentrate but comics are ideal.

DS2 likes Thomas or cbeebies. DD likes whatever has the best toy!

rachelmi Fri 09-Sep-16 15:47:06

The Beano is always great to share and have a giggle !

lozzle77 Fri 09-Sep-16 18:08:11

my sons favourite comc is the beano i think it may be because i followed my grans tradition as she always bought me the annual at christmas i get my son it too and worryingly at the age of 39 i still read it

Cagliostro Fri 09-Sep-16 18:13:07

DD loves manga but she's 9 and I find it hard to get stuff that is definitely not too old for her. She has dabbled in Avengers etc as well, she loves Iron Man.

DS is 7 and he likes Transformers stuff, and also recently we unearthed some old Avatar (as in the last airbender not the blue people!) comic books and he absolutely devoured them, it's really got him reading more.

Cagliostro Fri 09-Sep-16 18:13:49

Meant to say DD got into manga because she loves anime, stuff like Ghibli movies and the odd series.

ricola1 Fri 09-Sep-16 20:24:34

Beano because they never grow old

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now