Note: Please bear in mind that whilst this topic does canvass opinions, it is not a fight club. You may disagree with other posters but we do ask you please to stick to our Talk Guidelines and to be civil. We don't allow personal attacks or troll-hunting. Do please report any. Thanks, MNHQ.

to think teaching isn't the idea career for mums?

(217 Posts)
alisunshine29 Wed 27-Feb-13 14:25:10

I'm studying for a degree at the moment and had planned to complete my PGCE afterwards but since speaking to the mum of DD's friend I've changed my mind. She's a teacher at the same school as her daughters and they go to breakfast club from 8 and after school club til. 6. She said they are in bed for 7 and then she has a couple of hours more work to do every night, plus a days worth at the weekend. She gets to attend nativity etc but only because they're at the same school otherwise she'd miss those events. AIBU to think a 9-5 job might actually be more practical?

ReallyTired Mon 01-Jul-13 16:17:29

I think if I was going to retrain I would become a speech and language theraphist. There are some SLT term time only jobs with schools hours.

ReallyTired Mon 01-Jul-13 16:07:07

I think a lot depends on what kind of career you pick. Some jobs like say computer programming lend themselves to flexible working more than others.

"The best job in a school is being the receptionist. "

The best job is IT support in a school. You can get time off by flexible working. Ie. they want you to fix the server in the evening and only will give you off time in lieu. Alas my job no longer exists, but it was good while it lasted.

EarthtoMajorTom Sun 30-Jun-13 20:47:49