To want to be able to go to the toilet occasionally whilst at work?

(62 Posts)
CattyBrown Tue 05-Feb-13 07:58:54

I work afternoons and during the morning before I start work and also during my 10 minute break I tend to drink quite a bit of water, it's something that I have always done.

My supervisor however does not like anyone going to the toilet during shift time (IF I do go, I go when it is very quite and there is no work whatsoever to do). She always makes sly digs about how I should go on my break etc.

As long am I am not abusing the situation and going 6-7 times a shift, am I right in thinking that I should be allowed to go the toilet without being questioned and made to feel like a naughty schoolgirl?

RainbowsFriend Wed 06-Feb-13 22:57:11

As a teacher I deliberately reduce my fluid intake so I don;t need to go, as I normally don;t get time at break as I have to deal with pupils/clear up/set up next activity etc - and often at lunch we have meetings or suchlike.

Lots of my colleagues get kidney infections sad

OP - don't do what I do - it's not good for your health!

But surely the toilet is in the building! Or am I just being too pedantic? I always assumed staff nipped to the loo etc

CattyBrown Wed 06-Feb-13 21:30:25

Also, yes I have had tests as to why I drink alot and there is nothing wrong with me. I tried to cut downon the amount of water I drink, but, I have noticed that I get more frequent headaches. I guess I'm just someone who needs more fluids.

Thanks for everyone who has answered, and for the ones who haven't read my opening post correctly, please read again.

CattyBrown Wed 06-Feb-13 21:23:40

Sometimes I go once of twice out of my break and sometimes, like today, I didn't feel the need to go at all.

Thank you all for the advice.

BuntyPenfold Wed 06-Feb-13 20:38:52

SPBInDisguise yes, that is the whole building; no one else there to cover.

Bunty I thought ratios were applied across the whole building?

Earthymama Wed 06-Feb-13 08:33:17