Christmas activities for KS3 and 4?

(10 Posts)
WelshMoth Sat 08-Dec-12 23:39:39

What do you do with your classes on the last week of Christmas term? I'm a languages teacher. Help!

MidnightHag Sun 09-Dec-12 22:15:09

Keep teaching normal lessons as long as possible. Even the older ones get waaay to excited if you do fun stuff too soon. Maybe a quiz on the very last day?

Arisbottle Sun 09-Dec-12 22:20:25

If they are lucky I may smile at them and wish them a merry Christmas. I teach until the last day. I sometimes to amnesty Christmas cards or a quiz

noblegiraffe Sun 09-Dec-12 22:25:25

I'm maths. Last lesson of term I might do a Christmas themed maths activity (have loads of colour by numbers Christmas worksheets were you need to work out an answer to get the correct number to colour). I also let them play Christmas music on my IWB through youtube.

Christmas vocab wordsearch? Making Christmas cards with greetings in the appropriate language?

cricketballs Mon 10-Dec-12 17:02:40

Although we teach until the last bell I do make activities more Christmas based. For example I had ICT students write a letter from Santa to my youngest son today - they had to think about the fonts, language, images etc in terms of the purpose and audience of their work (last week we did a job application letter).

With the year 9s as we are doing spreadsheets then this will turn into a Christmas shopping list, with a specified amount to spend and they then have to create a spreadsheet which will let the parent change the variables so they can purchase presents for their 3 children.

my business students are due to cover supply and demand and this is based around toys...