My dog killed a vole. Is this normal?

(41 Posts)
gymmummy64 Tue 29-Jan-13 15:36:23

Not a crisis, not a problem, just a surprise! Out on his walk this morning, Gymdog suddenly started digging frantically at a bank and after a while reappeared with a vole/mouse thing in his mouth. It was dead, I guess he'd broken its back. He didn't seem terribly interested in eating it, dropped it after a while and walked on. I'd always known he has a high prey drive and likes a chase, but I guess I'd never expected him actually to kill anything <naive>

Informed consensus is that Gymdog is a retriever collie cross (pic on profile). I'm no expert, but isn't this behaviour more associated with terrier breeds? Do labs and collies kill stuff?

Good old gymdog, full of surprises!

mrsjay Thu 31-Jan-13 22:37:00

"what the chuff is that mum?!" Didn't hurt it at all, just followed him snuffling and touching him with his nose.

aww smile

mrsjay Thu 31-Jan-13 22:36:17

I once watched a programme about pest control and 1 company used a JRT as a rat catcher god it could go shock

missyPlumcake Thu 31-Jan-13 21:42:23

Hahaha. Our Heinz 57 when I was a child was a great mole catcher. We had a big field behind our house and sometimes, she'd cock her head on one side and then put her ear right down to the ground and then dig like fury and come up with a poor mole like some trophy. Then she'd line them up at the back door for us to admire. Bless her.

Principality Thu 31-Jan-13 21:33:07

My late dog had no sense of prey/killer drive at all...

The cat would regularly bring "presents" home and in several occasions the prsents were still alive. I remember on one occasion hearing snuffling noises in the hallway and going out to find ddog pushing a LIVE MOLE around with his nose. His expression was absolute gold. Pure confusion, "what the chuff is that mum?!" Didn't hurt it at all, just followed him snuffling and touching him with his nose.

Miss that dopey dog. sad

digerd Thu 31-Jan-13 12:33:34