Baby won't nap in crib

(7 Posts)
KateHay Sat 16-Mar-13 18:07:43

Hi
I'm new to this so apologies if this is a repeat of other threads. I have a 3 month old baby who since birth will only nap when held. As soon as I try to put her in her crib she wakens, no matter how deeply she's sleeping. She sleeps fine in it at night but refuses to go in it during the day. We've tried everything, the crib is raised at one end in case its reflux, we warm it before putting it in and we've tried putting something in with my scent and swaddling, all to no avail. We've also tried putting her in sleepy but not asleep and the pick up/ put down approach (admittedly only for a day as she got hysterical). She will sleep in her pram but only when it's moving outside, not indoors - as soon as it stops or we bring her in the house she wakes up! She also has a tendency to wake herself too early and if we don't get her back to sleep becomes really distressed. Any suggestions would be very gratefully received!

nextphase Sun 17-Mar-13 17:48:28

Its normal! Be grateful she will go in there at night!!

I'd either get a sling so you can do things while she is sleeping on you, or use it as a excuse to sit down a couple of times a day, and enjoy those lovely cuddles. She'll soon grow up. My oldests now "throws" my kisses away, and tells me he doesn't want Mummy kisses (he's nearly 4)