Discombobulated

(25 Posts)
milliemoomay Tue 19-Feb-13 19:04:32

Please be gentle with me - this is my first time on Mumsnet. And as my thread title suggests, I'm mired in confusion. I've tried talking to friends who in the main come back with "at least you have a house to sell" and they're absolutely right.. I can't complain there. But that doesn't exactly help me, so I'm hoping someone here will.

My dd and I have had a sad time recently, and decided we need a change. We've never been very happy here - it was a compromise after the marital home disappeared along with the husband.

So I put my house on the market a couple of months ago, at the price suggested by the agent and, wonderfully, I got close to asking price a few weeks in. The buyer was mad-keen and put an immense amount of pressure to exchange before a certain date, as she needed to secure a place at the local school for her son. They were moving from London and purportedly making a life style change. Shock. horror, the day before exchange, the buyer had a change of heart and decided that she didn't want to leave London after all. I pleaded - offering a sweetener of a price reduction. But to no avail and the chain collapsed.

I've since struggled to get myself back in the saddle. The agents were initially brilliantly energetic and I had a flood of viewers for the first week or so. It's since dried up. The agents suggested today that I drop the price by about 1.5%, saying that I was 'spoilt' by the London money offer!

I probably will do so, but the strange thing is that I walk around now (since the buyers pulled out) with a debilitating sense of shame. Some of the things the agent said today has added to that shame. It's little things really - for instance, I have a free-standing kitchen and he suggested that people find it too quirky! But I now feel so overwhelmed with it all, and don't believe that my house will stand up to scrutiny. blush