Mumsnet has not checked the knowledge, experience or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you have any serious legal concerns, we would suggest you consult a lawyer.

How best to help my DM with her finances/divorce. Please please help me. (long sorry).

(7 Posts)

What does she want to do? She wants to keep her home. She doesn't really want to divorce because it makes her feel like her entire life and all the bailing out she has already done has been for nothing. I know, I know sad angry sad

Thanks for the pm offer. are you involved in this sort of thing professionally?

olgaga Fri 07-Dec-12 18:49:36

Hi, so sorry for your mum. It's terrible when a family member gets into debt all the time - I have some experience of that!

Anyway, the key question is, what does she actually want to do? Yes she should have divorced him long ago, but no point worrying about that now.

There won't be much she can do to separate herself from this mess unless she is willing to divorce. It may be the only thing which will enable her to get to the bottom of their joint finances.

If you would like to PM me (click "Message Poster" top right of this post) I can give you some more information. I am not touting for business or anything like that, it's just that obviously some of the details you may need to provide might be quite personal!