How to de-register a child from school (England and Wales)

(131 Posts)
Julienoshoes Mon 25-Feb-08 18:19:42

A thread for bumping up, for information, so we don't have to keep repeating ourselves.

You'll find a sample de-registration letter (England and Wales) and other information about the realities and legalities of home education on the Education Otherwise and Home Education UKwebsites.

It is recommended that you get a receipt for the letter.

You are not obliged to have any further contact with the school once they have received this letter.
You are not obliged to contact the LA yourself at all, that is the school's responsibility.

Note that if you were already being pursued for truancy, that offence still stands but your child cannot be a truant if they are not a registered pupil. If you are providing an education under s7 of the Education Act 1996 by the time it gets to court, you may be fined for the earlier truancy but it seems unlikely a court would order a parent to prison.

For information about home education in Scotland contact Schoolhouse

Bump for LavendersBlue

julienoshoes Wed 21-May-08 23:15:24

bump again

julienoshoes Mon 07-Jul-08 11:22:01

bumped up, so essential info about home ed is kept near to the top.

julienoshoes Thu 17-Jul-08 18:40:05

bump

julienoshoes Wed 30-Jul-08 15:27:03

just bumping up the threads where information is needed frequently, to save us saying the same thing over and over.

julienoshoes Wed 27-Aug-08 20:50:38

Bumping thread, for anyone interested, as the new school term draws near.

julienoshoes Mon 01-Sep-08 22:22:53

information about home ed for onefunkymama to read.

julienoshoes Tue 30-Sep-08 12:43:15

bunping the thread, as it contains important information and it was falling down the page.

soon2be3 Fri 10-Oct-08 15:46:02

bump

julienoshoes Tue 21-Oct-08 23:01:31

bumping this thread for people new to home education to read

julienoshoes Mon 03-Nov-08 13:11:36

bumping for newbies, who might need the information.

bump

julienoshoes Tue 25-Nov-08 14:15:10

bumping up for happyfaceschildcare and other newbies to read

mummypig Sun 30-Nov-08 23:09:18

Bumping this up as it is very useful. Thank you all, especially Julienoshoes

julienoshoes Tue 02-Dec-08 22:40:48

bumping up for jammydoodarh to read

onwardandmerrilyupward Wed 07-Jan-09 21:05:03

bump!

julienoshoes Mon 19-Jan-09 17:03:28

bumping-important info for people new to home education.

julienoshoes Sun 01-Feb-09 10:13:20

bump

julienoshoes Sat 07-Feb-09 23:15:11

bump again for newbies to home ed read

julienoshoes Wed 18-Feb-09 10:30:59

Bump

julienoshoes Mon 02-Mar-09 22:35:20

bumping back up

julienoshoes Wed 18-Mar-09 20:30:28

bump

julienoshoes Mon 27-Apr-09 11:48:57

bump

toolly Tue 26-May-09 08:32:35

bumping up the thread

julienoshoes Thu 30-Jul-09 08:09:01

bumping up useful threads

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now