Does anyone work as a freelance graphic designer?

(12 Posts)
Pixelmama Thu 03-May-12 15:09:33

I have been considering this as an option. Has anybody made this work? If so what hours/days do you work? Do you go into companies or work from home? Any other insights would be appreciated!

WannaBeWildCosMyLifesSoTame Thu 03-May-12 15:20:32

I do! I work part time for a company and freelance (both from home) around that so best of both worlds really. I don't earn a fortune but it's not bad considering. I've been doing it for over 10 years and would say the pros and cons are:

Pros
Flexibility - for school runs/events etc
Job I enjoy
Can be good money

Cons
Working long hours and never feeling switched off from work (iPhones etc are both a blessing and a curse!)
Admin and chasing non-paying clients
Worry - about getting the work done if I've got lots and about getting more work in if I haven't
Cost of equipment - upgrading Mac, software etc on regular basis
Having to network and smarm up to clients (but that would apply in a regular job as well, just replace 'clients' with 'boss')
Decent paying jobs are few and far between and you end up doing endless fiddly little things for £50 which can be frustrating - but of course it all adds up

Despite the cons list being longer than the pros, the flexibility is such a massive pro that I think it outweighs everything else. Being able to work round kids and family commitments without (very often) having to pay for childcare if a real bonus although you'll need a supportive OH as something has to go by the wayside and that's usually housework and sex social life smile

Pixelmama Mon 07-May-12 20:05:15

Thank you for your response. Good to hear someone is making it work! Are you London based? Other than your pt role do you go into agencies or only work from home?

WannaBeWildCosMyLifesSoTame Mon 07-May-12 21:05:57