Not officially G&T, but does your child love writing? Guide me please...

(7 Posts)
earwig1 Sat 16-Mar-13 18:07:56

My 10 DD loves writing, she always has but lately she seems to spend hours writing stories and now she prefers to use a laptop rather than writing by hand. Her teachers have always commented that she has a real talent for writing, but mainly is her love of it and obvious enjoyment she gets that drives her. She's very lively, not the quiet type at all, and she's a bit too chatty at school but when she writes she really concentrates. I'd like some advice on how best to encourage her, do you recommend entering competitions? A creative writing course for kids? or just letting her get on with it? Any advice, especially from parents of very creative kids would be appreciated.

NeoMaxiZoomDweebie Sat 16-Mar-13 21:23:05

I think competitions can be good...and letting her get on with it! I am a writer and as a child I was just like your DD. I had lots of encouragement...she could begin a blog too...that might be useful but obviously you'd have to police it.

I would also ensure that she has access to the best available children's literature both modern and classical.

FriendlyLadybird Sun 17-Mar-13 08:29:50

Let her get on with it. Writing is a craft that needs practice. My 11-year-old DS is on his fourth novel now. He has actually done a couple of competitions, but only when they've flown into his ken (and the prize was worth winning).

seeker Sun 17-Mar-13 08:33:57

It's her think- let her get on with it. Nothing more off putting than an adult getting too interested!

rockinhippy Sun 17-Mar-13 17:35:36

I'm with seeker at 10 they are preteens & NOTHING will put her off more than too much interest from us parents - it suddenly makes is all very uncool - mine is 10 & also very much her own person & boy do I know this to be fact grin

Fleecyslippers Thu 04-Apr-13 23:53:53