Music exams - aural tests - boys changing voices

(12 Posts)
ElizaFyfe Sun 03-Mar-13 19:03:29

Message deleted by Mumsnet for breaking our Talk Guidelines. Replies may also be deleted.

Roisin Wed 27-Feb-13 07:27:27

Thank you silversmith.

silversmith Tue 26-Feb-13 21:50:44

As an instrumental teacher, I send boys in this position into their exams with a little note detailing their range that day on manuscript paper which they can just hand over to the examiner at the start of the exam. I know the student probably should be able to tell the examiner themselves, and the examiner should probably take the time to check, but with nerves and time pressures, these might not happen. The notes have always been graciously received so I assume they're appreciated!

Roisin Mon 25-Feb-13 16:46:07

That is brilliant Clouds; extremely helpful.
Just what we needed to know.
Thank you :-)

CloudsAway Mon 25-Feb-13 09:26:20

In the AB books 'Aural training in practice' it says:

"Usually the music for melodic repetition tests will be played in a medium treble register, but students should feel free to request it to be played in a different register if this would be more comfortable. Examiners will be happy to match tests to the vocal range of the candidate and are sympathetic to changing and adolescent voices that can have a narrow or unpredictable range. Any helpful information supplied by the candidate such as 'I would like this played in a bass register' or 'I currently have a voice range of F up to middle C' is welcome. It is useful to make sure that any student with specific pitch requirements knows how to tell the examiner about them, and knows to do so before the aural tests begin."

Roisin Mon 25-Feb-13 07:32:18

His voice is fine, excellent actually, and never croaky - unless he tries to sing out of his comfortable range; and his range is quite narrow.

Thanks or all the help.

1805 Sun 24-Feb-13 17:34:20