Disciplinary investigation meeting

(12 Posts)
hoobnoob Sun 27-Jan-13 20:05:00

I am freaking out and need advice.

I don't want to go into exact details but yesterday at the end of my shift I was handed a letter advising that I need to go to our head office tomorrow for an investigative meeting regarding miss-selling of a product and 'irregularities in a file' but not giving any specific details so i have no idea what I'm meant to have done.
It then says depending on this there may be a further disciplinary meeting.

I work in sales in a commission based role.
As far as I can tell, they can only dismiss me if I have committed gross misconduct which I don't think this is, but I am concerned as due to earning commission, any mis-selling could be classed as fraud, which I know is gross misconduct.

I can only assume that I may have made a mistake but would never have done anything intentionally wrong, is this a valid defence?

The letter said I was not to talk to or contact anyone in my company or enter company property.

I have worked for my company for over 5 years and have never had any disciplinary action against me, in fact I am we'll respected and a top seller.

I have done nothing but cry about this since yesterday and I'm so scared they are going to sack me

Bearcat Sun 27-Jan-13 21:05:51

Hoobnoob
Just want to point you in the direction of Chat on MN, page 2. There is a poster also in an urgent employment predicament and there is a lot of good advice there which will apply to you too.
Wishing you all the best. I too have had great difficulties in very recent times.

hoobnoob Sun 27-Jan-13 21:15:50

Thanks bearcat I found the thread, will have a read

LovesBeingWokenEveryNight Mon 28-Jan-13 06:37:19