Fear of childbirth

(14 Posts)
zebra88 Mon 11-Feb-13 13:23:39

Hi guys, been a member for some time and thought I could pick your brains!
Has anyone else been terrified of childbirth to the point where it was stopping you from sleeping?
I'm 29 and would like to start a family and I know my partner would too. Been getting pressure from the family to have a baby esp' mother, and partner's mother. I just feel like I couldn't cope with the pain and would have a sort of mental breakdown. I'm an anxious, worried type person anyway (even dread going to the dentist) and to make it worse I work in a hospital and have to visit the labour ward every so often so as you can imagine how it has put me off!! Conversely I feel I may have been affected by my own mother telling me several times throughout my life how difficult/long/painful my own birth was, which resulted in a c/s due to pelvic disproportion, and wonder whether it has become ingrained in my psyche that childbirth is a thing to be avoided.
Would be grateful for any advice as I think I can't talk to anyone I know as I feel like I'm being pathetic. I am worried that I'll leave it too long and maybe experience fertility problems as I have heard some couples sadly do.

CailinDana Mon 11-Feb-13 13:54:01

Your feelings are very common and nothing to be ashamed of. Giving birth is scary, everyone feels afraid of it to a certain extent but it's different if your fear is stopping you from having children.

Would you consider having counselling to work through your feelings? If your fears are not a phobia then talking them through might make them manageable. If it is a phobia and you're not able to overcome it then you might have the option of having a c-section for mental health reasons - would you consider that?

zebra88 Mon 11-Feb-13 14:34:41

I think you may be right it is stopping me. I think the best thing I can do is see if my GP will suggest counselling. I feel much the same way about c/s as I do about v/b really.