41+9 and feeling super panicky

(22 Posts)
MBRaz Tue 01-Jan-13 20:05:55

Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting - I am 41+9 days and feeling really nervous that I haven't had enough monitoring! I am booked in for an induction on Friday and can't help feeling like I am a bit lost in the system - my midwife (who I see at gp surgery) tried to get me booked in earlier (both for a sweep & induction) but they were too busy or booked up because of the bank holiday.

It has been a v easy low risk pg so I should be happy but I can't help worrying I'm leaving the baby in for too long and there will be complications. Does anyone have any comforting words or advice about inductions? I feel like I only read horror stories about them on here...

Thanks!

Norem Tue 01-Jan-13 21:02:09

Hi Op firstly are you sure your dates are right? Did your own estimated date differ from the scan date?
Is your baby well grown and active?
Is it your first baby?

MBRaz Tue 01-Jan-13 21:06:44

It is my first, yes - and according to all the mw appointments she is well grown and she has been consistently active. The dates differed by a couple of days (by my estimation I am only 7days overdue). Does that make a difference?

sw11mumofone Tue 01-Jan-13 21:10:14

Hi
I dont have a pleasant induction story to share im afraid, but regarding dates i was induced at 42+2 and DD was born at 42+4 and she was absolutely fine.

Nigglenaggle Tue 01-Jan-13 21:18:14

Let them know in the meantime if you are worried re movements etc and they will check you out, but probably the up side of waiting is that you will be induced on a day when they are fully staffed and ready for you, and the post bank holiday rush will have slowed, so from that aspect it will be safer. Maybe your midwife can fit you in for an extra appt to listen to the heartbeat etc and put your mind at rest?