to feel like crying in frustration?

(13 Posts)
alisunshine29 Sun 17-Feb-13 16:57:22

I have an 8 month old DD. I'm in my final year of a difficult degree and up until now was getting firsts for all assignments. My degree is vitally important for future career prospects. I co-sleep and though I try to do my assignments at night, DD very rarely sleeps for longer than an hour without me there and then takes ages to settle - consequently I barely get anything done. DP takes her occasionally on his days off (he works shifts) but only for an hour or two at most at a time. She is EBF, won't take a bottle/cup and isn't interested in food yet but can obviously go longer than 1/2 hours between feeds. DP is also studying at the moment and gets to do hours of work at night, though his makes no difference to career, and I feel like crying with frustration that I'm so far behind with my degree and see no way of catching up. AIBU?

hey there! go easy on yourself, it sounds like your doing amazing. Completeing a degree with a dd so young is no mean feat. Can you let yourself off with the need for 1sts? 2/1s are just fine!

Re the constant feeding.... My twins were still ebf at eight months. One twin was as you describe your dd. I was at my wits end and studying also. I gradually (not that gradual mind!) reduced the breast feeding to morning only. They still took a lot of milk, but not feeding a t night meant the bed time routine kicked in a bit, and they were much more interested in food through the day.

also, talk to your tutors. Get extensions if need be! it won't affect your final mark, but you must talk to them and keep them informed. They want you to do well, and are used to this!

oh and by the way dp needs to pull his socks up and help more!!! can you have a word?

ImperialBlether Sun 17-Feb-13 17:10:13

Ohh I had one of those children!