Cake. And birds.

(54 Posts)
BrokenBritain Mon 21-Jan-13 18:51:12

Ok I have a question. It is a little bit a thread about a thread, but am I being unreasonable to seek some clarification re bad cakes and birds?

I am an enthusiastic but untalented baker, and occasionally I've made a cake that not only looks like shite but tastes like it too. On these occasions I have binned the cake.

It never occurred to me that I should feed them to the birds ( we are v lucky we have birds where I live), I thought perhaps all that egg, sugar, chocolate, baking powder etc weren't very good for their digestive systems. Was I wrong? Does everyone else feed them to the birds? What about dogs, are they ok to eat cake? If I'm going to delight any creature with my cake castoffs I would probably rather it were my dog.

And if birds eat eggs does that make them a tiny bit cannibal?

Apologies for sidetracking from the more serious cake issues at hand, but am genuinely confused.

I feed my hens stale cake. They love it. Especially fruit cake.

betterwhenthesunshines Mon 21-Jan-13 18:53:40

It's never ocuured to me to feed cake to birds. But then I've never made a cake so disastrous that it has to be binned grin

BrokenBritain Mon 21-Jan-13 18:56:19

I admire your skills betterwherethesunshines! I sometimes get the self raising and the plain muddled up, or forget a crucial ingredients, and then it all tends to go tits up.

Cake is fine, the fats and sugar are good for energy, you can feed them
Pastry as well if you screw that up. This is according to the RSPB.

alfrex Mon 21-Jan-13 18:58:58

Very Funny angry

WhateverTrevor Mon 21-Jan-13 18:59:03

You are so lucky to have birds where you live .wink

BrokenBritain Mon 21-Jan-13 19:00:07

Oh cool, thanks binky. I will try not to bake any more shite cakes but if I do I shall give them to the dog/birds smile

CaptainVonTrapp Mon 21-Jan-13 19:00:24

NO. Birds (and humans) will quickly become ill and die if they eat burnt food.