My feed
Premium

Please
or
to access all these features

Get updates on how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy by signing up to the Mumsnet Pregnancy Newsletters.

Pregnancy

Compression Socks / Stockings

12 replies

kittehkatkitteh · 06/09/2015 06:31

I'm 6 weeks going on 7. I'll be flying off this thursday and would like to know if i really really really need to wear compression socks/stockings. My flight would be about 17hrs or so.

OP posts:
Topsy34 · 06/09/2015 08:00

Personally i would, ive done a few long haul not pregnant and had puffy ankles.

WhoTheFuckIsSimon · 06/09/2015 08:01

As a midwife I would say yes. I know it's early on but your physiology changes early and puts you at more risk, and the flight is really long. Have a nice time.

kittehkatkitteh · 06/09/2015 08:15

Thank you so much for your kind replies. I shall go ahead to purchase one.

OP posts:
Brummiegirl15 · 06/09/2015 08:33

Absolutely you should.

I bought some yesterday in Boots

scarednoob · 06/09/2015 09:08

Yes - I'm stuck in hospital being monitored at the moment for an early induction or c section (stupid GD!!) but as I didn't need a drip, I can come and go a bit during the day. So I queried why I needed the stockings if I could walk around normally and the dr said you are more prone to clotting etc when pregnant.

I know they're gross - if I were you, I'd take 2 pairs for each trip, then change if your feet start to feel a bit cheesy!!!

Brummiegirl15 · 06/09/2015 12:24

I got thick black ones from Boots so they are just like proper socks (admittedly knee high!) rather than horrible stockings

Heavenscent86 · 06/09/2015 17:15

Do you need this for a short haul flight too? I'm flying to Paris (only about an hour and a half) at 5 months pregnant.

ThePug · 06/09/2015 18:25