Welcome to Mumsnet!

We’re delighted you’ve found us. Join in the conversation on the UK's busiest site for parents

Get started »

What do reading levels mean?


The National Curriculum in England describes progress through school in terms of 'levels' that children reach. These levels are described in the National Curriculum documents.

Most children begin primary school at Level W (Working towards Level 1) and the aim is that they should reach at least a mid-Level 2 at the end of Year 2, and Level 4 by the time they leave primary school.

Children who read below Level 4 often have trouble reading textbooks in secondary school and are less likely to get grade C or above in their GCSEs.


The match of Book Bands to National Curriculum levels is like this:

Book Band reading levels


pearson mumsnet tagline

Last updated: over 3 years ago