Welcome to Mumsnet!

We’re delighted you’ve found us. Join in the conversation on the UK's busiest site for parents

Get started »

What National Curriculum levels mean


Young girls roll dough into moon shapes

Precise descriptions of what children need to be able to do to achieve these levels are widely available elsewhere online. Broadly speaking, however: 

  • Six to nine points in all areas at the end of Reception mean that a child is settled in well and is learning to learn in school. They are able to socialise, work together and have begun to master the beginning ideas of reading, writing and maths. 
  • Level 2B in reading at the end of Year 2 shows that children are able to read. They can recognise or work out most words and they are beginning to make meaning as they read. In writing, they are able to write short stories (between half a page and a page of A4) and information texts. Most of the words they use will either be correctly spelled or will be recognisable. They will be able to use different kinds of sentences. In maths, they can add and subtract up to about 100 and are beginning to understand about multiplication and division. 
  • Level 4, at the end of primary school, indicates that a child is ready for secondary school. They will be able to read their text books and understand what they say. The children will be able to write longer stories and information texts, using a variety of interesting words and sentence types, so should be able to write whatever is asked of them in Year 7 at secondary school. In maths, they are confident about all the the basic things, such as adding, subtracting, multiplying and dividing, and are now ready for the more advanced maths in secondary school.


Learning with Pearson logo

Last updated: 7 months ago