Book giveaway: The Other Side of the World


This giveaway is sponsored by Tinder Press

Share this on Facebook

They are so small, Charlotte thinks, holding one child and looking down at the other. Tiny. In her mind they seem so large, simply because they take up the whole of it...

Cambridge, 1963. Charlotte is struggling: with motherhood, with the changes marriage and parenthood bring, with losing the energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, can't face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives Henry the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you.' Before Charlotte has the chance to put up a fight, the whole family is travelling to the other side of the world.

But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte, and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home…


A tender and gorgeously written novel of a marriage in crisis in the tradition of Revolutionary Road, The Other Side of the World was an Australian bestseller, and winner of the ABIA Award for Literary Fiction Book of the Year and the 2015 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction.


Read an extract



Praise for The Other Side of the World:

"An insightful, exquisitely observed novel... deserves to make many a book prize shortlist" – Observer

"Unflinching but tender... a moving story of marriage, home and self-discovery" –  Stylist

"There are moments in this novel that are so beautifully and painfully evoked... I thought about it for days afterwards" – Carys Bray, author of A Song for Issy Bradley



Copyright Craig Peihopa

Stephanie Bishop was named as one of the Sydney Morning Herald's Best Young Novelists for her first novel, The Singing, and has been shortlisted for numerous Australian literary awards. She studied in Cambridge, where much of The Other Side of the World is set, and is currently a lecturer in Creative Writing at the University of New South Wales. The novel is Stephanie's UK debut.

You can find Stephanie on Twitter @slb_bishop


Book giveaway:

We've got 50 copies of The Other Side of the World to give away to Mumsnetters to read and share their thoughts about it on the discussion thread. 

You don't have to win a free copy to take part in the discussion. Anyone who has read The Other Side of the World can post their feedback on the discussion thread. If you miss out on a free one, you can buy a paperbackAll who post feedback before 13 September will be entered into a prize draw to win a £100 Love2shop voucher.

This giveaway ends on Monday 1 August


Liked this? Try these:



Book giveaway: I Found You

Top tips for debut authors

August Book of the Month: The Improbability of Love

Last updated: 3 months ago