Book giveaway: The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

 

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow is the first book in a sumptuous mystery-adventure series with gorgeous period detail. This detective story is set in an Edwardian department store owned by an enigmatic New York millionaire. Think Mr Selfridge meets Nancy Drew!

Left penniless when her father dies, Sophie is pleased to find a job in the millinery department of Sinclair's, soon to be London's largest and most glamorous department store. There, she makes friends with Billy a junior porter and beautiful Lil, who is one of the department store "manikins" by day, and an aspiring actress by night.

A daring burglary, including the theft of the priceless Clockwork Sparrow, plunges them all into an exciting adventure. Come along for the journey as they crack codes, devour iced buns and vow to bring the villians to justice…

Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Chris Riddell, Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens' Wells and Wong series.

 

This giveaway is sponsored
by Egmont Books

 

 


About the Author

Katherine Woodfine

Debut author Katherine Woodfine is Arts Project Manager at Booktrust, the UK's most prominent reading and writing charity. She is a true champion of children's literature and throughout her time at Booktrust has project-managed the Children's Laureateship and worked on a huge range of other children's book prizes and initiatives, including YALC 2014, the UK's first Young Adult Literature Convention, curated by Malorie Blackman.

She has reviewed and recommended children's titles online, in print and on the radio as part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole, a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children's literature. For more information visit her blog or follow her on Twitter.

 

Book giveaway

We're giving away 25 copies of The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow. ​Fill in the form below to apply for a free copy.

Don't forget, if you receive a free copy of this book, we kindly ask that you post a review in our book review section or post on the discussion thread.

This giveaway closes 10am, Monday 8 June, so apply now.   

 

 

 

 

 

Last updated: 9 months ago