Nursing to Teaching

(65 Posts)
Doobydoo Sun 27-Dec-20 13:41:20

Heloo. Just after some insider info. Been looking at teaching courses and just wondered if a Diploma in Nursing ( I am a Paediatric Nurse) and NVQ 5 in Leadership and Management is enough to enable me to train as a teacher ( prob 4-7 year olds)

OP’s posts: |
Doobydoo Sun 27-Dec-20 13:44:59

Although I have been working with Elderly frail for the last 6 years as a nurse.

Orf1abc Sun 27-Dec-20 13:53:11

You'd need a degree for postgraduate entry.

This is not insider info, a Google search will tell you about entry requirements in general and for individual universities.

Doobydoo Sun 27-Dec-20 13:56:24

I did read re entry etc. Just wondered if points from Diploma and NVQ could be added.

Doobydoo Sun 27-Dec-20 13:57:19

I will contact my local teacher training place after Christmas.

LegoPandemic Sun 27-Dec-20 13:58:53

Had you thought about teaching nursing?
I teach Dentistry and love it- much more fun than doing dentistry!

sashh Sun 27-Dec-20 13:59:27

To teach children you need either a teaching degree or a degree then teacher training.

Does it have to be small children? I spent about 5 years doing nothing but supply teaching health and social care. There is a great demand for anyone who can teach anatomy and physiology and you don't need a degree to do the teacher training. You do have to enjoy teaching teenagers though.

Fedup21 Sun 27-Dec-20 14:02:09

You’ll need a degree. Unless you want to be an ‘unqualified’ teacher on the UT scale.

Doobydoo Sun 27-Dec-20 20:22:11

Thanks for replies. I have been thinking for a while re changing jobs. Ideally I would either work for National Trust or with Books but trying to be grownup re options. I shall probably be stuck with Nursing..12.5 hour shifts,no pay if off sick..unless ssp.and beaurocracy ++ ...I know many jobs are like this but I want one where I am not responsible for 40 residents and then the staff and all the pressure......