How to explain an unintended gap year after graduating?

(11 Posts)
GapYear2020 Mon 29-Jun-20 15:07:42

I finished my master's degree nearly a year ago. I really enjoyed it but found it quite intense, especially towards the end. I felt like I wanted a month or so off afterwards just to decompress and plan my next steps rather than rush into something. I have always planned to do a PhD so I felt like I just wanted a bit of breathing room from academia as I felt like I was close to burning out.

So I had a month or so off and begun to look for PhDs. However I really struggled with my mental health at this point. I started developing really bad anxiety and just lost all confidence in myself. I genuinely do not recognise the person I became. I was also dealing with some family issues that, now I am looking back, were relatively minor but at the time felt all-consuming due to my anxiety.

In the Spring I began looking for part-time jobs but the places I applied to started to close because of COVID-19. I then thought I was in the high-risk group so stopped applying for jobs and accepted I would have to stay home. It wasn't until later clarification that I found out my medical issue is not high risk.

That takes me up to now. I have started resuming working on my applications, I am in a much better place mentally and feel like my old self again. However I am feeling worried about how to explain this year on my applications and in interviews? Does anyone have any advice? I feel so guilty about it and I know it is a big reason why I have been putting off submitting some applications.

Thank you.

OP’s posts: |
CorianderLord Mon 29-Jun-20 15:59:31

I don't think you'll even be asked tbh? Quite normal to do a gap year. Just say that you took some time out after your MA and then Covid scuppered your options for a while.

CorianderLord Mon 29-Jun-20 16:00:05