Talk

Advanced search

Interview help.. business support officer

(5 Posts)
emmalt85 Tue 23-Jun-20 20:40:51

Hi, I have an interview next week for my dream role of working within an office in a nursery school. I have been a stay at home mum for 2 years. I was a senior payroll officer in my previous role, I had worked there for 12 years and been in that particular role for 11 years. I had 2 members of staff who i managed on a daily basis.

I know I am capable of the role but I am really nervous to say the least as it has been so long since I have had an interview. I am not the best when having to 'sell' myself and I am worrying myself stupid.

Can anyone advise me on what interview questions I am likely to be asked? And good answers I can possibly respond with 😊 thank you

OP’s posts: |
maxelly Wed 24-Jun-20 16:16:14

Don't worry, it's normal to be nervous, but I think the very best advice I have been given about interviews is to remember that the panel already believe you can do the job (or they wouldn't be interviewing you), so your job is to convince them you are the person they want to work with. To that end coming across (as far as possible, I know it's hard in such an artificial situation) as enthusiastic, motivated, personable, i.e. the kind of person they want to work with, is at least as important, if not more so, than giving them the 'hard sell' of how brilliant you are. Someone can have all the qualifications, experience in the world but if they are an arsehole no-one wants to hire them!

Make sure you have nice open body language, sit up straight, don't hunch, try not to 'fiddle' too much with your hands/hair etc., smile and make eye contact with the interviewers. Don't forget to breath and it's fine to take a pause before answering questions to think of your answer rather than immediately launching into verbal diarrhoea!