Talk

Advanced search

Do I Give Up After A Month?

(11 Posts)
allie007 Fri 03-Jan-20 20:37:44

I've started running exercise classes for older people, have only done 6 but I'm not enjoying it and am losing so much money as I'm turning down work for my 'proper' job to do this. My head is so messed up I don't know what to do.
I'm a single parent and I've been working as a supply teacher for the last few years. The work is erratic at certain times of the year, but mostly busy. The downside is I don't get paid when I dont work, so no pay during school hols etc, but I manage to save through the year so I get by. The upside is I'm there for my kids in all the hols, the evenings, and if theyre off ill or have an inset i don't have to worry about taking time off. The freedom is great. It does get me down in September because I get no work, especially last year so I studied and qualified 6 months ago as an exercise instructor for older adults. I figured this could be something I could do easily, set my own hours etc.
Started a class 1 day a week,meaning Im turning down teaching work. Despite advertising loads Im only getting a few to the class and it doesnt cover my costs, never mind making any money. Ive felt nothing but stress since I started the class, to the point where im taking Kalms and i'm getting ratty with my son and not sleeping. I know its very very early days, classes need time to build up but I never thought it would get to me like this.Friends are telling me not to give up because ive worked so hard, to give it more time, but at the end of the day ive got bills to pay and i can't afford to keep losing hundreds a month. Its on my mind 24/7, and this was the reason I gave up full teaching. But at least that was a good, regular income and a pension.
Am I giving up too easily?

OP’s posts: |
RunningAwaywiththeCircus Fri 03-Jan-20 20:42:15