Talk

Advanced search

self assessment accounts, require confirmation Certificate from Accountant

(5 Posts)
starbody Mon 02-Dec-19 11:40:34

Hi Mumsnet,
I wonder if anyone can advise me please, I'm a sole trader and submit my own accounts to HMRC without an accountant. I don't use any online service for the accounts part, just cash basis and a spreadsheet with totals. I am having to prove my income to the UK Visa applications as I am a sponsor for a visa application. As part of the application form it states the following:
(bb) If the business is not required to produce annual audited accounts, unaudited accounts for the last full financial year and an accountant’s certificate of confirmation, from an accountant who is a member of a UK Recognised Supervisory Body (as defined in the Companies Act 2006) or who is a member of the Institute of Financial Accountants;
I have submitted my tax returns to HMRC for 2018-2019, and believe that due to the above statement I require a certificate to either validate my submitted returns, and/or an evaluation of the unmade accounts for 2019-current.

Has anyone experience of this? I am wondering if I can sign up to an online accounting service, import all of data and then have a confirmation certificate created by the online service accountancy team? Or, find a local accountant who will look over my 2019-current and confirm the earnings. I apologise in advance, I have no experience in this arena. Thanks MN

emma123456 Mon 02-Dec-19 16:33:07

I'd look for a local accountant. I cant imagine any professional accountant (whether online or not) would just issue a confirmation statement without doing some work! You will need an accountant that is qualified and regulated by one of the professional bodies. I also wouldn't hang around too long - this is a very busy time of year for accountants!

starbody Mon 02-Dec-19 17:24:36

Thank you! Appreciated

BritInUS1 Mon 02-Dec-19 17:27:54