Talk

Advanced search

Freelance opportunity - please help me someone.

(9 Posts)
EverythingsSoComplicated Sun 03-Nov-19 20:24:05

Hi,

Sooooo I have had this massive opportunity get dropped in my lap!! Something like this will probably never happen again, and I’m overwhelmed and scared that it could actually happen to me.

I cannot give out to much information but will try and explain the best I can.

I am a mum of two young children. Been working the last three years with a friends husbands business to help them out. Was only supposed to be a over Christmas thing and I have just never left!!

Well yesterday I was out on a experience day shall we call it that I have a lot of passion and knowledge about, and this company asked if I would come and work for them........ haven’t really got the fine details yet but they said that I would be need to freelance, ok again not a problem but god where do I start, I think we are having a chat tomorrow to discuss more about the position and what they would want from me, I’m so excited and so so scared at the same time.

Been trying to find out what people charge freelancing these days I don’t want to ruin the opportunity by asking for too much but at the same time I don’t want to undercharge. I will be working from home most of the time, and maybe going out to visits and meetings with other people. I have been told that my expenses would be covered. So I’m guessing phone bill and mileage.

Does anyone here do freelancing that can give me some hints and tips. Im so so scared I’m going to ruin this opportunity before it even begins. I also struggle a little with anxiety and I’m already contemplating not answering my phone and ignoring it and digging a hole.

Any help would be so so appreciated.

onetimeonlyy Sun 03-Nov-19 20:27:57

When I started freelancing I charged 1% of what the annual salary would be for a days work.

Eg you would be paid £25,000 a year, it would be £250 a day. You can break down an hour rate from that.