Talk

Advanced search

Looking to employ someone freelance

(18 Posts)
Snowdropfairy85 Sat 28-Sep-19 16:06:01

Hello, I’m looking to start up my own website advertising local events and information relevant to families in my local area. I’m a qualified journalist so the writing side of this I have down, I am not however a natural salesperson by any means. I’m looking to hire a sales person on a freelance basis to help me get up and running. I realise I’m going to have to get my website numbers respectable before anyone will be willing to advertise with me. Anyway, I’m wondering where would be good to find a freelance media sales person, and would I pay them an hourly rate or a commission for sales, and what percentage? Clueless about lots of things to do with this so please be kind!

Drabarni Sat 28-Sep-19 16:10:21

I think you'd need to look at similar jobs and what they are offering.
Will you pay a retainer, if the job is to be freelance, or will you employ someone different each time you need someone.

Snowdropfairy85 Sat 28-Sep-19 16:17:21

It would just be casual work as and when so no retainer.

23Squared Sat 28-Sep-19 16:38:05

Ok, so what platform are you using for your website?

How are you getting the info for local events? I would imagine a lot of it will be scraping and or contacting relevant people?

Re traffic, social media and SEO is key - if you are doing reviews type blogs then you can do instagram - use linkinbio or linktree or similar to send specific posts to specific blogs. If there is a blogging type element then use local pinterest seo - pinterest is massive for traffic.