Talk

Advanced search

Setting up a kid's running club. Advice needed

(4 Posts)
Runnerjellybean Thu 23-May-19 06:46:51

I have no experience with self employment. No idea what I need to do. My son is a keen runner but there are no groups locally so I thought I'd look into starting one.

A quick search tells me I will need public liability insurance, dbs check. A good idea to have some policies. First aid training.
How would one go about sorting out taxes etc. I really have zero experience or knowledge of anything like this so any help at all would be great.
Thank you

OP’s posts: |
Runnerjellybean Thu 23-May-19 11:48:24

Anyone?

OP’s posts: |
fairweathercyclist Thu 23-May-19 17:50:59

Do you have a coaching qualification? If you want to run a kids' club you can't just do the one day leader in running fitness because I think you are only insured to lead over 12s. But if you do the two day coaching assistant I think you will be insured. They will also go through other requirements like DBS check which you can do through England Athletics, and also as you said first aid course. Another option might be to run it out of a school and you may be able to piggy back off their insurance?

madaboutrunning Fri 24-May-19 08:58:31

I've set up a run coaching business so have quite a bit of experience here. To coach children you'll need a coach qualification - the leader/coaching assistant qualifications only insure you to work under the supervision of a coach. You'd need to check which one permits coaching of under 12s - I think it is the athletics coach one. You have to get a DBS as part of the qualification process and you have to do safeguarding course (you'd also need a safeguarding policy). Once you have all this you'd be covered by EA public liability insurance.